Libraries Make Room For High-Tech ‘Hackerspaces’

by Nick Brewer

Submitted by Laura Alejandra Gonzalez:

Libraries Make Room For High-Tech ‘Hackerspaces’ : NPR

I’d like to make my own addition to this, Phil Torrone wrote a great article for Make about this same topic a few months ago. I’d love to see these types of tools being offered for everybody to use.

I propose we think about what role the public library can or should have. I’m really interested in what everyone thinks, so please post in the comments. I have more questions than answers, but my “gut” says we’re not going to see public libraries as the centers of learning state-to-state that they once were.

If the only public space where 3D printers, laser cutters, and learning electronics happens is in fee/memberships-based spaces (TechShops, hackerspaces), that will leave out a segment of the population, who will never have access. FabLabs often are geared towards under-served communities, so perhaps it will be a combination of FabLabs and hackerspaces.

What if we were to convert just 1% or even 10% of the 9,000 public libraries in the USA to TechShops? I say TechShop because I think they could get it done with the right amount of funding, or at least coordinate the effort. Since 1% of the USA’s public libraries is about 90, that’s close to the TechShop goal in 5 years; 10% would be 900 locations — not a bad goal.

2 Comments to “Libraries Make Room For High-Tech ‘Hackerspaces’”

  1. I can’t get through at the moemnt I must say Lacey Duvalle has to be one of the finest human specimens, and watching her ejaculating in the first few seconds of this talking picture overcomes me with desire!

  2. Now I feel stupid. That’s cleared it up for me

Leave a Reply

